Hope

“Let Your mercy and loving-kindness, O Lord, be upon us, in proportion to our waiting and hoping for You.” Psalm 33:22 (AMP)

Hope in Hebrew is yachal (phonetically pronounced yaw-chal’). It means to wait, to have hope, to wait expectantly. Waiting never seems to be the easiest thing for us to do. We live in an instant microwave society and expect we instant results for everything. We are a “I want mine and I want it now” society.  When we choose not to wait expectantly on the Lord, our hope becomes impaired.

Jesus is our reason for hoping and waiting. Hope in Him helps us to overcome any amount of doubt we have about our circumstances. When we hold to our hope and don’t let go, it is a supreme act of faith.

Reasons to have hope in God:

• God spoke and the world came into existence

• He is our Shepherd

• His eye is on all those who fear and revere Him

• He is our help and our shield

• He is faithful in everything

• He is strong and mighty

• He always in control

 I waited patiently and expectantly for the Lord; and He inclined to me and heard my cry. Psalm 40:1 (AMP)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vanessaksmith
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 09:16:05

    It is so sad seeing people that live without any hope, the ones that just go through the daily motions. I used to be like that several years ago. It is so much better to have hope in God! Better is one day is His house than thousands elsewhere – there is no truer statement than this. =)

    Reply

  2. Mylah Sai
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 09:52:14

    Waiting is hard, but the results are priceless. I’m so glad to have a friend like you who helps me remember the hope I have in Jesus.

    Reply

    • fayeforever21
      Oct 18, 2012 @ 20:20:56

      Yes waiting is sometimes extremely hard. But as you said, the end results are overwhelmingly worth the wait. God is awesome and waiting for what He has for us never a waste of time.

      I am constantly working on how I wait. I am a work in progress. When I write, I am speaking first to myself before anyone else.

      Blessings! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

