Higher Ground

The view from the window of an airplane is always an amazing sight. When looking out at the fluffy cotton-like clouds you realize just how high up you are. You feel like you could just reach out and touch those clouds. A few years ago, when flying to visit family in Louisiana, I was staring out of the window of the airplane and I couldn’t help but think about a gospel song the choir used to sing when I was growing up. The song is entitled “I’m Pressing On” and the first verse of the song says, “I’m pressing on the upward way, New heights I’m gaining every day; Still praying as I onward bound, “Lord, plant my feet on higher ground.” We are sometimes onward bound through hospital bills, joblessness, illness, marriage problems, and the list could go on and on. We sometimes want to go higher on our jobs, in our relationships, with our family and friends, and in other areas of life, but do we really want to go higher with the Lord?

Going higher with the Lord does requires some active participation from us. What kind of participation am I talking about? Reading and studying God’s word and having a consistent prayer life are ways to actively participate in moving up higher with the Lord. Reading and studying our bible means God speaks to us and when we pray we talk to God. Praise, gratitude, and worship are also ways to go higher in the Lord. When we speak God’s praises He will bless us, guard us, keep us, and lift us up to higher ground.

Psalm 34:1(Amplified) “I will bless the Lord at all times; His praise shall continually be in my mouth.”

In 1989 the Mississippi Mass Choir recorded “I’m Pressing On” with Rev James Moore as the lead singer.  Listen and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

