30 Days Of…Day 13 – “Giants”

 

Do you have giants in your life? If you are honest you will say yes. I know that I have had to deal with a couple of giants. The giant of fear is one that can paralyze you if you let it take over your life. Another giant is insecurity. Insecurity will make you doubt the abilities you have. Insecurity drains you of the God-given talents and creativity that you resides within you.

One of the bible stories that I liked as a child is the story about David and Goliath. Goliath was a giant who stood over nine feet tall. Everyone was afraid of him because anyone that went up against him would ultimately lose their life. David, the youngest of eight children, was a teenager. Three of his oldest brothers had signed up with King Saul’s army to fight against the Philistines which Goliath was a part of. Goliath taunted King Saul’s army and promised them he would destroy. One day David’s father asked him to take food and wanter to his brothers. So David goes down to the place where the army and the Philistines are to take necessities to his brothers and he hears the conversations about Goliath taunting the army and what he is going to do to them. He decides that he is going take this giant who dares to defy the Israelites who are the army of the living God.

David decided to look at this giant situation from the perspective of his God. As the story goes, he used three smooth stones and a slingshot and killed Goliath. Looking at giant our circumstances from God’s point of view, will help us to fight the giant more effectively.

1 Samuel 17:45 & 47 (Amplified Bible)

45 Then said David to the Philistine, You come to me with a sword, a spear, and a javelin, but I come to you in the name of the Lord of hosts, the God of the ranks of Israel, Whom you have defied.

47 And all this assembly shall know that the Lord saves not with sword and spear; for the battle is the Lord’s, and He will give you into our hands.

“Giants, the bigger they are the harder they fall”. Give your giants to the giant slayer and then stand tall.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MylahSai
    Jun 27, 2012 @ 20:26:50

    I definitely have a few giants in my life… so grateful for Jesus.

    Reply

  2. GG
    Jun 27, 2012 @ 23:32:46

    Amen. My saying it for me to face my demons and get it over with. Giants … who are they and what are they? We will encounter them at one time or another in our lives. The maganitude of your giant is contingent updon who you go to battle with…if you go with self…a giant you shall encounter. If you go with Jesus….ummm they will become meek as a lamb…..Blessings

    Reply

  3. Russel Blake
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 21:14:16

    Thank you for this insightful posting. I very much enjoy your style of writing done with both a gentle clarity and a singular wisdom for one to ponder upon. I will continue to thank God for the tumbled giants of my life, as they were the only way for me to know how tall I really am through Christ JESUS. God Bless You Faye..

    Reply

    • fayeforever21
      Jun 29, 2012 @ 21:44:29

      Russel, thank you for your comments on this particular post. I had the song in my head about “Giants” the bigger they are the harder they fall, and that’s what prompted me to write about Giants. I often deal with my own giants, especially when it comes to my writing. But everytime I view my giants from God’s point of view, I know they will get slayed. Thank you again for following my blog. May God Bless and keep you always.

      Reply

  4. Trackback: DAVID AND GOLIATH THE ANIMATED CHRISTIAN STORY « Vine and Branch World Ministries

Leave a Reply

