30 Days Of…Day 9 – “Race Day”

I say race day, but really it’s not a race because I’m not racing against anyone I’m just trying to make it to the finish line. Today I did a 5K run/walk. A 5K is 5 kilometers and 5 kilometers equals 3.1 miles. Three miles doesn’t sound like a like, but for amateur like me it is a lot. Every time I do one of these, I find myself saying “why did you sign up for this”.

We are smiling before the 5K

I ask myself why are you doing this? Well, I think the reason I started doing these races, is because it is a way for me to keep myself active and a part what I need to do be healthier person. Another reason is that I have found that you meet a lot of interesting people while you are walking.

One lady walked up to my friend Gail (she did the walk/run with me) and just started talking. She’s like, “I’ve got some good gospel music to run with today. I’ve got Fred Hammond, John P. Kee,  and Darwin Hobbs. Do have any gospel music today?” Gail’s reply was “I have some in my Ipod but I don’t have it with me today”.

A father and his 5 year daughter were running the 5k. The daughter was a little runner. She would not stop running and her dad had a hard time keeping up with her. He told us that she was very competitive and that her 7 year brother was about a mile behind them. She was so cute and she didn’t even seem tired. She might be a Olympian some day.

There were mothers with babies and jogging strollers. I saw another mother with a double stroller with twins. People of all ages, sizes and ethnicities were out there putting one foot in front of the other making an effort to get to the finish line. I’m huffing and puffing, but I’m still moving. People were passing me up and I was passing other people up. We all had one goal in mind and that was to make it to the end and get our finisher medals. After we cross the finish line you forget about the struggle and the pain and you are just happy that you accomplished something.

“I’m Tired but I Did it”

We made it! Gail was a great coach, she kept me moving..

“We Made It”

Am I gonna do it again? Even though I keep asking myself when I get out there, “why did you do this”, yes I am going to do it again and probably again.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gail
    Jun 25, 2012 @ 19:08:53

    Hey My Sista – Yes! We did it. Thank you for the invite. A lot of interesting people…..don’t forget about Karla. I am proud of you! Write on my Sista! Write on! You continue to inspire me in all that you do! Thanks for being that caring and committed sister from another mother!

    Blessings – G

    Reply

    • fayeforever21
      Jun 26, 2012 @ 20:24:48

      Hey My Sista, my sista. Thank you so much for reading my blog. I’m glad that I can inspire you. You know I don’t think my blog is that big of a deal, but I do so appreciate you supporting me in everything I try my hand at. You are the best sista anyone could ever ask for. Thanks for doing the 5K race with me. There is a 80’s 5k on September 1st at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena. I’m thinking about doing that one. I will send you the info tomorrow. I haven’t signed up yet.

      Thanks again. God bless you for the positivity that you bring into my life and all those around you.
      Love you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

